William Horsforde of Dorchester

This extract of the Last Will and Testament of William Horsforde of Dorchester was first published in Genealogical gleanings in England By Henry Fitz-Gilbert Waters, on behalf of the New England Historic Genealogical Society in 1885.

William Horsforde of Dorchester in the County of Dorset, gentleman, 30 June, 1621, proved 25 January, 1622. To be buried in the church of St. Peters. To the poor of the Hospital of Dorchester five pounds. I give & bequeath my house and lands, with the appurtenances, in the parish of St. Peter’s, in the lane there going towards the Fryery, wherein George Hooper, needle maker, lately dwelt, and which I purchased of Mr Joseph Longe and Thomas Bullocke, unto Joane my wife for the term of her life; then to Joane my daughter and the heirs of her body, &c.; then to my own right heirs forever. My daughter Sarah and her husband, my son in law, John Hardey. To their children, John, Jane and Sarah Hardey and the child wherewith my daughter Sarah is now great, one hundred pounds, which was meant to be given unto them by my brother Hugh Horsforde deceased, and one hundred pounds besides. To my daughter Joane Horsforde four hundred & fifty pounds. My daughter Grace, the wife of Thomas Frye, and her children. My friends John Strode of Chantmarrell, Richard Bingham of Melcombe, Richard Kesier and William Clapcott, of Frampton, to be executors.

Leave a Reply

