The buildings of Beaminster have changed remarkably little, even if the coming of the internal combustion engine means that the streets look rather different. The old photos are from Beaminster Museum; Colin Varndell took the modern ones.
Published in Volume 1 of Genealogical Gleanings in England 1888 this is an extract of the will of Mary Symes, now of Beamister, late of Poorstock [Powerstock], in the county of Dorset, widow, dated 7 June 1736, proved 17 November 1738.
in his book ‘The Royal Forests of England’ published by Methuen & Co. 1905, John Charles Cox states that ‘The county of Dorset had three royal forests at the time of the granting of the Forest Charter of Henry III. — Gillingham, Blackmore, and Poorstock’. This is his description of them.
James Scott, Duke of Monmouth and Buccleuch, was born on April 9th 1649, the illegitimate son of Charles II. He married Anne Scott, countess of Buccleuch, whose name he adopted, and was created a duke in 1663. Monmouth became captain-general of the armed forces in 1678.
The Book of Beaminster tells the story of the town through words and a remarkable collection of photographs showcasing the locale through the ages. The book was put together by Beaminster Museum, where the authors are all volunteers.
Read the full story by Nicola Rayner in the Dorset Echo
A Description of the town of Beaminster, Dorset, England as described by Samuel Lewis in A Topographical Dictionary of England, Published in London in 1831.