Marston Bigot

3 Comments

  1. Thomas R. Hopkins said,

    December 29, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I visited Marston Bigot in July, 2009. My dad was there for about 60 days in late 1944 with the 1262nd combat engineers prior to service in France, Belgium & Germany. I have some nice photos of the grounds and the town of Frome which I would be glad to share. Also a little history of how the battalion came to be there, what they did there, etc.

  2. Francis C. Marinelli said,

    July 8, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    My father was also stationed at Marston Bigot with the 1262d Engineer Combat Battalion, which underwent training there on assembly of the Bailey bridge, prior to crossing the Channel. I recently met a gentleman from Frome who, if I recall correctly, attends Rotary Club meetings at Marston House and who indicated that U.S. troops stationed there did considerable damage to the interior. Any such damage, I understand, would not have been caused by the 1262d — my father has said that his outfit lived in tents on the grounds and most, if not all, never entered the house.

    • T.R. Hopkins said,

      July 8, 2010 at 5:33 pm

      Mr.Marinelli, please email me at trh177@cox.net. I have a lot of information that you may be interested in. Also I would be interested in obtaining any information, photos, etc., that you may have and would be willing to add to what we already have.

      Thanks,

      T.R. Hopkins


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

